Adult Virtual Reading Club

Welcome to the Adult Virtual Reading Club!

Each month we will explore a new theme, our suggested reads along with related articles and topics.


How to participate in the Virtual Reading Club: Adult Edition

  1. Start by locating the book or books you are interested in reading during that month. Try one or try all of the book picks, it is completely up to you. Request a copy from TRAC or find it here at SGPL. Visit us in-person or give us a call as we would be happy to help you! Try out one or more of the featured activities. 
  2. We'd love to hear from you! Let us know your thoughts on the monthly theme or share your book review. Give us a shout out on social media or contact reference@sgpl.ca. 

Connect with us on social media!

Facebook @SpruceGroveLibrary
Pinterest @SGLibrary

Instagram @SG_Library

#Firstread

The theme this month is #firstread. The books selected this month are some of the newest items on our shelves. Request them in TRAC to be one of the first people to read them!


The family upstairs by Lisa Jewell

Be careful who you let in.
Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she's been waiting for her entire life. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.
She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents, but also that she is the sole inheritor of their abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London's fashionable Chelsea neighborhood, worth millions. Everything in Libby's life is about to change. But what she can't possibly know is that others have been waiting for this day as well—and she is on a collision course to meet them.

Available in print, audio on CD, and ebook on Overdrive



The starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues--a bee, a key, and a sword--that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library, hidden far below the surface of the earth.

Available in print, audio on CD, and ebook/audiobook on Overdrive



Get a life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.
Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Available in print, ebook/audiobook on CloudLibrary, and ebook on Overdrive.



Wanna know what hits the shelves next?

This website has lists of all the upcoming book releases for the next year. https://readingbookslikeaboss.com/book-releases/#jan2020


Check out these videos for more new releases!




Hashtags to follow:


#firstread

#ReadHarderChallenge

#newbooks