Library Board


We invite you to attend Board meetings at 7pm on the third Tuesday of the month (unless otherwise specified) which take place on Treaty 6 Territory; the Board does not usually meet in July, August or December. If you have something you'd like added to the agenda, please email it to the Board Chair, Adam McArthur or contact the Director of Library Services, Leanne Myggland-Carter (780-962-4423, Ext. 202). 

If you would like to attend the meeting, please email the Director of Library Services, Leanne Myggland-Carter.

Our next meeting is Tuesday, November 21, 2023 and begins at 7:00PM


To be recognized as a community champion of equality, collaboration, and inspiration.


Build Connections. Strengthen Community. Transform Lives.


We are committed to:

  • intellectual freedom, and access to knowledge for all;
  • treating everyone with dignity, respect, courtesy and compassion;
  • providing quality service without bias;
  • encouraging innovation and personal development;
  • recognizing and valuing the contributions of staff and volunteers;
  • appreciating and responding to the diversity of our community.

Strategic Directions for 2019-2023

Based on the recommendation of the Library’s Community Planning Committee[1], SGPL’s Plan of Service will focus on three strategic directions for the 2019-2023 time period:

Visit a Comfortable Place: Community members of all ages will have barrier-free access to welcoming physical and virtual spaces.

Practice and Promote Inclusion: Community members of all ages will have programs and services that embrace diversity through acceptance, appreciation, and recognition of all people in our community.

Encourage Literacy: Community members of all ages will have programs and services that provide opportunity for life-long learning while helping them make sense of the world in a variety of ways.

A focus on these strategic directions will enable SGPL to respond to community needs at a standard of excellence.

The Plan of Service is a living document and, as action is taken, changes may be made to the plan and new objectives may be added to realize the Vision, Mission, Values and Goals of SGPL.

[1] SGPL used the Strategic Planning for Results process developed by Sandra Nelson for the Public Library Association of the United States to develop its 2019-2023 Plan of Service. This process includes the formation of a Community Planning Committee (CPC). The Committee identifies community needs and recommends priority service responses (strategic directions) for the library to respond to these needs. The SGPL Board reviewed and approved the CPC recommendation on May 15, 2018.

[2] Please see appendix for the definition of key terms used in the Plan of Service.


2023 Trustees



Email Address

Grant Crawford

Policy & HR Committee

Adam McArthur

Board Chair
Ex-officio member all committees  

Terry Mack

Policy & HR Committee

Dave Oldham

Advocacy & Finance
City of Spruce Grove Councilor

Lori Porter

Vice Chair
Policy & HR Committee

Sharon Shuya

Policy & HR Committee

Erin Stevenson

Policy & HR Committee
City of Spruce Grove Councilor 

Sacha Curran

Advocacy & Finance Committee

Rudy Zacharias

Advocacy & Finance Committee